History

Let us tell you a little bit about the Sapec Group. This family-run company was founded in 1926 and is deeply-rooted in Portugal. Set up initially to exploit the pyrite mines in the Alentejo, the Group gradually integrated vertically in the production and commercialization of a wide range of products for agriculture. It entered the Spanish market in 1961 following the acquisition of the Tharsis mines in Andalusia and underwent a far-reaching restructuring process after 1988, becoming an investment holding company with interests in various fields of activity with synergies and complementarities.

The company subsequently branched out into new activities, such as the import and distribution of agrocommodities in Portugal in 1985 and in Spain in 1987; the import and distribution of chemical products for industry in 1989; the development of port activities, warehousing and logistics, initially in Setúbal (1983), but later extended to the whole country with the acquisition of a controlling interest in the company SPC (Serviço Português de Contentores) in 1991. Simultaneously, in a successful venture capital operation, the Group gained a foothold in the mini hydroelectric power plant sector in Spain, after acquiring a controlling interest in Guadalmancha with the Spanish financial group Caja Castilla la Mancha. More recently, the Group has moved into the environmental field in Portugal (treatment and recycling of industrial waste), which offers new prospects for growth.

Today, the Group has successfully achieved its reconversion from a mining and chemical company to an industrial and services holding company with a stable but varied string of complementary activities, which are mainly established in Portugal but increasingly in Spain. The Group has set up specialised, competent structures and teams in each of its business areas, which all operate autonomously, enabling it to achieve a major critical mass and significant market shares. Listed since 1926 on the Brussels Stock Ex change, the company enjoys a stable and prestigious shareholding structure(Velge, Espirito Santo and ParibasCopeba Groups) ensuring the necessary durability, professionalism and entrepreneurship, key ingredients of success in the XXI century.

In future, the Group will remain faithful to its vocation as an investor in Portugal and Spain, seeking on the one hand to increase the critical mass of its traditional activities from an Iberian market perspective and, on the other, developing its range of activities in order to create a greater added value in distribution and services.

Historique

Sapec, entreprise familiale, fondée en 1926, est profondément ancrée au Portugal. Créée à l'origine pour exploiter les mines de pyrite de l'Alentejo, elle s'est progressivement intégrée verticalement dans la production et la commercialisation d'une vaste gamme de facteurs de production pour l'Agriculture. Depuis, elle s'est à la fois implantée en Espagne en 1961 par l'acquisition des mines de Tharsis et, depuis 1988, restructurée sous forme de holding d'investissements avec une présence élargie dans différents secteurs d'activité en synergie.

C'est ainsi que sont apparues les activités d'importation et de distribution de matières premières agroalimentaires au Portugal en 1985 et en Espagne en 1987; d'importation et de distribution de produits chimiques pour l'industrie en 1989; le développement des activités portuaires et d'entreposage/logistique, d'abord à Setubal en 1983, puis sur l'ensemble du territoire portugais, avec l'acquisition du contrôle de SPC (Serviço Português de Contentores) en 1991. Par ailleurs, dans une opération de "venture capital" réussie, le Groupe a pris pied dans le secteur des mini centrales hydroélectriques en Espagne, en partenariat avec le Groupe financier espagnol Caja Castilla la Mancha. Plus récemment, le Groupe est entré dans le domaine de l'environnement au Portugal (traitement et recyclage des résidus industriels), ou des nouvelles perspectives de développement se présentent.

Aujourd'hui, le Groupe a réussi sa reconversion d'une société purement minière, puis chimique vers un holding industriel et de services, ayant un périmètre stable et varié d'activités complémentaires, implantées surtout au Portugal mais aussi et de plus en plus en Espagne. Dans chacun de ses métiers, le Groupe s'est doté de structures et d'équipes spécialisées et performantes opérant de façon autonome lui permettant d'atteindre une masse critique importante et des parts de marché significatives. Coté en Bourse de Bruxelles depuis 1926, il dispose d'un ancrage actionnarial stable et prestigieux (Groupes Velge, Espirito Santo et Cobepa) qui lui garantit la pérennité, le professionnalisme et l'esprit d'entreprendre nécessaires à toute réussite au XXIème siècle.

Demain, le Groupe va continuer à être fidèle à sa vocation d'investisseur au Portugal et en Espagne en recherchant d'une part, à augmenter la masse critique de ses activités traditionnelles dans une perspective de marché ibérique et d'autre part, à faire évoluer son portefeuille vers des activités créant plus de valeur ajoutée dans la distribution et les services.